

Academic Board Membership

Position on Academic Board	Name	Type of membership and term of office
Vice-Chancellor & Chief Executive (Chair)	Power, Professor Mark	Ex officio
PVC (Student Experience)	Vickerman, Professor Phil	Ex officio
PVC (Research and Enterprise)	George, Professor Keith	Ex officio
Registrar & Chief Operating Officer	Milsom, Professor Clare	Ex officio
Academic Registrar (interim)	Cotgrave, Professor Alison	Ex officio
Dean, The Doctoral Academy	Sheldon, Professor Julie	Ex officio
5 x PVCs of Faculty		
Arts, Professional and Social Studies	Yates, Professor Joe	Ex officio
Health (Deputy Chair)	Kane, Professor Raphaela	Ex officio
Engineering and Technology	Ekere, Professor Nduka	Ex officio
Business and Law	Nichol, Dr Tim	Ex officio
Science	Bishop, Professor Laura	Ex officio
2 x JMSU Sabbaticals		
President	Marie Hie	Ex officio
Vice President, Education	Shaquita Corry	Ex officio
Post Graduate Research student	Vacancy	Ex officio
5 x Directors from Management Group		
He Va Mi	Askem, Mark	Elected (1 st term: 09/06/2021-08/06/2024)
	Hemers, Dr Elaine	Elected (1 st term: 02/10/2019-01/10/2022)
		Extended for one year ending 30/09/2023
	Vacancy	
	Miles, Dr Alex	Elected (1 st term: 02/10/2019-01/10/2022)
		Extended for one year ending 30/09/2023
	Waraich, Dr Atif	Elected (1 st term: 02/10/2019-01/10/2022)
		Extended for one year ending 30/09/2023
6 x Faculty Academic Staff		

LJMU AB 22

Arts, Professional and Social Studies	Roberts, Dr Emma	Elected (1 st term: 26/06/2019-25/06/2022)
		Extended for one year ending 24/06/2023
Arts, Professional and Social Studies	Spittle, Dr Steven	Elected (1 st term: 26/06/2019-25/06/2022)
		Extended for one year ending 240/6/2023
Health	Arnold, Mark	Elected (1 st term: 26/06/2019-25/06/2022)
		Extended for one year ending 24/06/2023
Engineering and Technology	Upadhyay, Dr Yog	Elected (1 st term: 26/06/2019- 25/06/2022)
		Extended for one year ending 24/06/2023
Liverpool Business School	Soehren, Mr David	Elected (1 st term: 26/06/2019-25/06/2022)
		Extended for one year ending 24/06/2023
Health	McIlroy, Dr David	Elected (1 st term: 26/06/2019-25/06/2022)
		Extended for one year ending 24/06/2023
4 x Professoriate (not Directorate)		
Health	Jones, Professor Ian	Elected (1 st term: 06/11/2019-05/11/2022)
		Extended for one year ending 04/11/2023
Arts, Professional and Social Studies	Thomas, Professor Michael	Elected (1 st term: 11/03/2020-10/03/2023)
Engineering and Technology	Newsam, Professor Andrew	Elected (1 st term: 02/10/2019- 01/10/2022)
		Extended for one year ending 30/09/2023
Science	Vacancy	
1 x Professional Services Staff	Bakstad, Phil	Elected (1 st term: 26/06/2019-25/06/2022) -
		Extended for one year ending 24/06/2023
ATTENDEES		
University Secretary & General Counsel	Burquest, Maria	Required to attend
Clerk to the Board of Governors and Minute	Thompson, Michael	Required to attend
Secretary (interim)		

N.B. Elected members can only serve one term of 3 years. However, at the end of that first term, they can stand for re-election again for a second term.

Elected members are not permitted to serve a third consecutive term. There will need to be an identifiable break from the Academic Board for at least three years before standing again for election.