TERMS OF REFERENCE AND MEMBERSHIPS



LJMU ATHENA SWAN WORKING GROUP

CHAIR: Professor Robin Leatherbarrow PVC (Scholarship, Research & Knowledge Transfer)

1. STRATEGIC CONTEXT

The LJMU Athena Swan Working Group Supports the strategic aim of being a University that provides a fair, supportive and encouraging working and learning environment with which students and staff engage responsibly.

The LJMU Athena Swan Working Group meets 3 to 4 times in a year to review progress against the University's Athena Swan action plan and Objectives and to share best practice.

2. GENERIC RESPONSIBILITIES

- To ensure that the activities and decisions of the Working Group are aligned with the priorities contained within the LJMU Strategic Plan 2017 - 2022
- To oversee progress of relevant strategic Key Performance Indicators
- To ensure that equality and diversity matters are fully considered, addressed and embedded within the activities and decisions of the Working Group
- To identify risks and opportunities associated with the proposals, decisions and other activities which fall within the remit of the Working Group
- To ensure terms of reference are reviewed on an annual basis along with the Working Group's effectiveness
- To ensure any changes to the terms of reference are reported to the relevant parent committee for approval
- To ensure the Working Group complies with the standards and guidelines provided by the University's Secretariat for reporting and presentation
- Any other generic responsibilities, aims and objectives

3. SPECIFIC RESPONSIBILITIES

The Working Group has specific responsibility as follows:

- **3.1.** To meet 3 to 4 times in a year to review progress against the University's Athena Swan action plan
- **3.2.** To take responsibility for the implementation and evaluation of the Athena Swan Action Plan over the next 3 years.
- **3.3.** To revise LJMU Athena Swan Action Plan based on the positive action areas identified.
- **3.4.** To analysis relevant data and identify positive action areas for gender equality in the University STEM departments.
- **3.5.** To apply for the Athena Swan Awards
- **3.6.** The Group will report issues to do with women in STEM and Athena Swan to the University Equality and Diversity Committee.
- **3.7.** LJMU Athena Swan Working Group will also report directly to SMT via the Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Scholarship, Research and Knowledge Transfer) on issues to do with women in STEM and Athena Swan as necessary.

4. CONSTITUTION

The constitution of the Working Group is detailed below:

4.1. Reporting and Membership

Reporting to:	Equality and Diversity Committee/SMT	
Reporting Committees	N/A	
Working Panels/Group	Departmental Athena Swan Working	
	Groups	
Receive minutes and selected papers	NA	
from:		

Members List - University-wide Athena Swan Working Group

	Name	University Role	Areas representing
1	Leatherbarrow,	Chair, Pro-Vice-Chancellor	Chair (SMT)
	Robin	(Scholarship, Research, and	
		Knowledge Transfer);	
		University Senior	
		Management Team	
2	Tattersall, Andy	Director, School of Natural	Science
		Science and Psychology	
		(SCI)	
3	Bishop, Laura	Professor, School of Natural	Science/WPN
		Sciences and Psychology	
		(SCI); Associate Dean	
		(Global Engagement)	

4	Richardson, David	Director, School of Sport Science (SCI)	Science
5	Leach, Andrew	Lecturer/Senior Lecturer, Pharmacy and Biomolecular Sciences (SCI)	Science
6	Messina, Marco	Lecturer/Senior Lecturer, Maritime and Mechanical Engineering (FET)	FET
7	Cotgrave, Alison	Professor, Built Environment (FET); Associate Dean (Education)	FET
8	Font, Andreea	Lecturer, Astrophysics (ARI)	FET
9	Atkinson, Amanda	Research Assistant, Public Health Institute (EHC)	EHC (ECR)
10	Timpson, Hannah	Head of Research Impact and Engagement, Public Health Institute (EHC)	EHC
11	Porcellato, Lorna	Reader in Public Health and Health Promotion	EHC (Filling in for Hannah as she is on Maternity Leave)
12	McVeigh, James	Director, Public Health	EHC
13	Amoako, Isaac	Lecturer/Senior Lecturer, Liverpool Business School (LBS)	LBS
14	Humphreys, Deborah	Lecturer, Liverpool Business School	LBS
15	Maclennan, Sarah	Programme Leader, Liverpool Screen School (APSS)	APS
16	Norquay, Glenda	Professor, Humanities and Social Science (APSS)	APS/WPN
17	Angelina Cliff	President, LJMU Student Union	LiverpoolSU
18	Leighton, Diana	Head of Research Excellence and Research Strategy	PSS
19	Thompson, Greg	Manager, People and Organisational Development	PSS
20	Akinsanya, Moni	Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Manager, People and Organisational Development	PSS
21	Rioux, Sara	Head of Operations (FET)	PSS
22	Sidaway, Ann	HR Adviser, Corporate Business Change Initiatives	PSS

23	Lorraine Shaw	Subject Head, Nursing and Allied Health	EHC
24	Boulter, Jason	Staff Leadership and Development Adviser, People and Organisational Development	PSS
25	Box, Meriel	Head of Leadership and Development, People and Organisational Development	PSS
26	Walker, Emily	Executive Support Officer, Vice Chancellors Office	Secretary to the Board
27	Christopher Vaughan	Lecturer, Humanities and Social Science	APS
28	Steve Finnigan	Professor, Centre for Policing Studies	APS
29	Matthew Hill	Lecturer, Humanities and Social Science	APS

The Working Group will be empowered to co-opt further members with specialist knowledge, to assist as necessary, and to invite guest speakers to make presentations on specific topics.

The Working Group will invite interested parties to attend meetings or those parts of meetings of relevance to them.

4.2. Quorum

To ensure that the Working Group is quorate, meetings will only proceed if the Chair and three (3) other members of the group are in attendance.

4.3. Frequency

The Working Group will meet 4 - 6 times per year.

APPROVED BY EQUALITY & DIVERSITY COMMITTEE:

DATE OF NEXT REVIEW: [July 2018]